Lake Erie: Life on the Edge

Jan 20 - Mar 21, 2020

Presented by The Schumacher Gallery, Capital University
Lake Erie: Life on the Edge

The photographs in the exhibition take the viewer on the 900-mile perimeter journey around the lake. Although Lake Erie’s volume is just 1/46 of the other Great Lakes, its warm and shallow waters produce more life than all the other lakes combined. Through aerial images, one is able to engage the lake as a whole, examining antiquated industry as well as new energy resources. The ground-level shots display the natural habitats, the juxtaposition between industry and recreation, and the plethora of people and wildlife.

Reception: Thursday, January 23, 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.

(Please note: The gallery is closed February 22 - March 1 for mid-term break.)

HOURS: The gallery will be open Monday - Saturday, 1 - 5 pm during the academic year. We are closed during the summer and on university holidays.  

DIRECTIONS AND PARKING : The Gallery is located on the fourth floor of The Blackmore Library at Capital University. Parking is available on the Main Street Plaza parking at Pleasant Ridge and Mound Street - one block south of Main - and on Main St. until 4 pm, or on any of the surrounding side streets.

The photographs in the exhibition take the viewer on the 900-mile perimeter journey around the lake. Although Lake Erie’s volume is just 1/46 of the other Great Lakes, its warm and shallow waters produce more life than all the other lakes combined. Through aerial images, one is able to engage the lake as a whole, examining antiquated industry as well as new energy resources. The ground-level shots display the natural habitats, the juxtaposition between industry and recreation, and the plethora of people and wildlife.

Reception: Thursday, January 23, 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.

(Please note: The gallery is closed February 22 - March 1 for mid-term break.)

HOURS: The gallery will be open Monday - Saturday, 1 - 5 pm during the academic year. We are closed during the summer and on university holidays.  

DIRECTIONS AND PARKING : The Gallery is located on the fourth floor of The Blackmore Library at Capital University. Parking is available on the Main Street Plaza parking at Pleasant Ridge and Mound Street - one block south of Main - and on Main St. until 4 pm, or on any of the surrounding side streets.


Location The Schumacher Gallery


Get Directions

One College and Main, Columbus, OH, 43209


Lake Erie: Life on the Edge

Jan 20 - Mar 21, 2020


Fri, Feb 21
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Sat, Feb 22
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Mon, Feb 24
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Tue, Feb 25
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Wed, Feb 26
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Thu, Feb 27
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Fri, Feb 28
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Sat, Feb 29
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Mon, Mar 2
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Tue, Mar 3
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Wed, Mar 4
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Thu, Mar 5
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Fri, Mar 6
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Sat, Mar 7
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Mon, Mar 9
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Tue, Mar 10
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Wed, Mar 11
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Thu, Mar 12
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Fri, Mar 13
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Sat, Mar 14
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Mon, Mar 16
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Tue, Mar 17
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Wed, Mar 18
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Thu, Mar 19
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Fri, Mar 20
1:00 - 5:00 PM
Sat, Mar 21
1:00 - 5:00 PM

Show All Dates

This event is:

  • Free
Categories

Visual Arts
You May Also Like These Events

Nearby Public Art

St. Anthony
St. Anthony
Artist: Gary Ross
County: Franklin
Statue
Whorl II
Whorl II
Artist: Michael Liscano
County: Franklin
Sculpture
Drexel Theatre
Drexel Theatre
Artist:
County: Franklin
Historic Theater
Lulu Pearl Douglas
Lulu Pearl Douglas
Artist: M. Parker
County: Franklin
Statue


Please note: Information for the calendar of events is gathered from multiple community sources. ColumbusMakesArt.com is not responsible for the accuracy and content of information. Times, dates and locations are subject to change.


Stay Informed

Please subscribe me to the following:

Our Partners

American Electric Power Dispatch Media Group ABC 6 / Fox 28 CD 102.5
The Columbus Foundation

The Sol Morton and Dorothy Isaac, Rebecca J. Wickersham and Lewis K. Osborne funds.

PNC Bank
Greater Columbus Arts Council