×

Internet Explorer (IE) 11 is an outdated browser that does not fully support all the ColumbusMakesArt.com functionality and has a number of security concerns. We no longer support IE11 and recommend that you upgrade to a supported browser.


Please note: In the wake of emergency preparations for Ohio’s limitations on events due to the Coronavirus, organizations may have not yet have had time to update their listings on this calendar. You can visit our Virtual Art Makes Columbus page for a compilation of the information we’ve received so far, including major closings. For any other event, please do not assume if it is listed here that it is still happening. Call or check websites before you plan any visit.

Gretchen Bender: Aggressive Witness—Active Participant

Sep 26 - Dec 27, 2020

Presented by Wexner Center for the Arts
Gretchen Bender: Aggressive Witness—Active Participant

Commissioned by the Wexner Center in 1990 for one of its inaugural exhibitions, Gretchen Bender’s Aggressive Witness–Active Participant turns the pulsating cycle of nonstop American television into theatrical spectacle.

Consisting of eight domestic television sets (pre–flat screen era) interspersed with four computer monitors, Bender’s piece was one in a series of remarkably confrontational works taking live television imagery and abstract computer graphics as source material. 

Commissioned by the Wexner Center in 1990 for one of its inaugural exhibitions, Gretchen Bender’s Aggressive Witness–Active Participant turns the pulsating cycle of nonstop American television into theatrical spectacle.

Consisting of eight domestic television sets (pre–flat screen era) interspersed with four computer monitors, Bender’s piece was one in a series of remarkably confrontational works taking live television imagery and abstract computer graphics as source material. 

Funding for this event provided by:

Funded by GCAC Funded by OAC

Location Wexner Center Galleries


Get Directions

1871 N. High Street, Columbus, OH, 43210


Gretchen Bender: Aggressive Witness—Active Participant

Sep 26 - Dec 27, 2020

Tickets

Price Range: $$$$
Free for members, college students, patrons under 18, active military and veterans $9 general public $7 senior citizens and OSU faculty

Exhibition
Sat, Sep 26
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Sep 27
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Tue, Sep 29
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Wed, Sep 30
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Thu, Oct 1
11:00 - 7:00 PM
Exhibition
Fri, Oct 2
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sat, Oct 3
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Oct 4
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Tue, Oct 6
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Wed, Oct 7
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Thu, Oct 8
11:00 - 7:00 PM
Exhibition
Fri, Oct 9
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sat, Oct 10
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Oct 11
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Tue, Oct 13
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Wed, Oct 14
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Thu, Oct 15
11:00 - 7:00 PM
Exhibition
Fri, Oct 16
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sat, Oct 17
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Oct 18
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Tue, Oct 20
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Wed, Oct 21
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Thu, Oct 22
11:00 - 7:00 PM
Exhibition
Fri, Oct 23
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sat, Oct 24
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Oct 25
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Tue, Oct 27
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Wed, Oct 28
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Thu, Oct 29
11:00 - 7:00 PM
Exhibition
Fri, Oct 30
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sat, Oct 31
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Nov 1
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Tue, Nov 3
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Wed, Nov 4
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Thu, Nov 5
11:00 - 7:00 PM
Exhibition
Fri, Nov 6
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sat, Nov 7
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Nov 8
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Tue, Nov 10
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Wed, Nov 11
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Thu, Nov 12
11:00 - 7:00 PM
Exhibition
Fri, Nov 13
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sat, Nov 14
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Nov 15
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Tue, Nov 17
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Wed, Nov 18
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Thu, Nov 19
11:00 - 7:00 PM
Exhibition
Fri, Nov 20
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sat, Nov 21
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Nov 22
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Tue, Nov 24
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Wed, Nov 25
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Thu, Nov 26
11:00 - 7:00 PM
Exhibition
Fri, Nov 27
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sat, Nov 28
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Nov 29
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Tue, Dec 1
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Wed, Dec 2
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Thu, Dec 3
11:00 - 7:00 PM
Exhibition
Fri, Dec 4
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sat, Dec 5
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Dec 6
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Tue, Dec 8
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Wed, Dec 9
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Thu, Dec 10
11:00 - 7:00 PM
Exhibition
Fri, Dec 11
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sat, Dec 12
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Dec 13
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Tue, Dec 15
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Wed, Dec 16
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Thu, Dec 17
11:00 - 7:00 PM
Exhibition
Fri, Dec 18
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sat, Dec 19
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Dec 20
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Tue, Dec 22
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Wed, Dec 23
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Thu, Dec 24
11:00 - 7:00 PM
Exhibition
Fri, Dec 25
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sat, Dec 26
11:00 - 4:00 PM
Exhibition
Sun, Dec 27
11:00 - 4:00 PM

Show All Dates

Categories

Installation, Visual Arts, Film
You May Also Like These Events

Nearby Public Art



Please note: Information for the calendar of events is gathered from multiple community sources. ColumbusMakesArt.com is not responsible for the accuracy and content of information. Times, dates and locations are subject to change.


Stay Informed

Please subscribe me to the following:

Our Partners

American Electric Power Dispatch Media Group ABC 6 / Fox 28 CD 102.5
The Columbus Foundation

The Sol Morton and Dorothy Isaac, Rebecca J. Wickersham and Lewis K. Osborne funds.

PNC Bank
Greater Columbus Arts Council